As a user with administrator privileges, you will have access to the Site configuration menu item.

Clicking the Site configuration menu item will display the following window:

In the picture above it can be seen, that a second site has been added in addition to the auto-generated default site.

A site will typically represent a distinct business entity. Sites neither share master or transactional data with each other, i.e. a client connected to site A cannot see any data belonging to site B.

The site concept allows multiple distinct business entities to share the same ROB-EX infrastructure (databases, software services, client program, etc.) while still ensuring that each business entity lives isolated from each other.

When a ROB-EX client connects to the server, it must select what Site ID to connect to. A client can only be connected to one site at a time.

The same user can have different rights on different sites, i.e. a user can have an Admin role in site A and have a Viewer role in site B.

The Site configuration provides an overview of existing sites, as well as the possibility to add sites, edit sites and delete sites.

How to add or edit a site

To add a new site click the Add new site button and enter the information for the site.

Name Type Description
Site id Mandatory A unique id for the site
Site name Mandatory A name for the site
Site Description Optional An optional description of the site

To edit a site, simply click the site id. The site id of the site cannot be edited, so if the id must be changed, it is only possible by first removing the old site and then adding a new one.

Create a new local user

Press the link “Add new user” to create a new user. The following window is shown:

Enter

  • The users full name,
  • A username (e.g. initials) – this is the login name
  • A password

Select

  • If the user should be able to read archives
  • If the user should be able to run archiving
  • The role of the user.
  • The site of the user (for information regarding sites, e.g. adding new sites, see section above “How to add or edit a site” )

When the correct information has been entered, press the Create button.

Adding a new user will automatically create a security rule for that user, providing access to the specified site. For further editing of the site access options for the user, see the section Security rule management.

Edit a local user

In order to edit a local user, click on the username link of the user in the “Manage users” window. The window Edit user is shown.

The following things can now be edited:

  • The full name of the user
  • The password of the user (e.g. initials)

Press the button Update in order to save the changes.

Feedback

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment